Comments, e-mails and our return!

It has been over a month since our last post and it has been a  busy month indeed! One of the things that really struck me when I first started working here was the seperation between the finished product on the shelf and the amount of work that goes into getting it there. As a consumer, I just had this idea that everything was automated. Not so, unfortunately. We spent a lot of the last month taking care of Holiday orders and customer concerns. When that was over, we ended up looking into a big change in the way we handle a lot of business-y things. And then the King Nut peanut butter recall happened, and while we were NOT AFFECTED BY THE RECALL(!) we spent a lot of time fielding customer calls and e-mails and issuing press releases to clear the air. But things are starting to calm down a bit and I actually just sent out our (hopeful!) schedule for the next few months, so with a little luck we’ll be back to frequent posting.

In the meantime I wanted to highlight some of my favorite posts, comments and links that’ve come in in the last few weeks. First, from a reader named Penelope:

When I first moved to the U.S., I told my husband I would only eat peanut butter if I were an American citizen. Belgians only eat chocolate spread. OK, maybe that is an overstatement, but you get the point. A few years ago I did not think I would ever apply for naturalization. I knew that I would have to give up my Belgian citizenship in order to become an American, and I was not ready to do that. But then again, never say never! Last year the Belgian law on dual citizenship changed (you no longer have to give up your Belgian citizenship if you apply for another citizenship), and more importantly, I start to feel more and more like an American. The U.S. is now my new home, and I want to participate in all facets of life, including voting. Early September I submitted my N-400 application for naturalization. I thought it would take years before my application would be approved.  I was wrong, very wrong!

On December 31, 2008 I received my letter for the Oath Ceremony: Tuesday 13 January 2009!  I could not have asked for a better way to start 2009.  When I called my husband, he immediately said “I will cook that evening.”  Mmm, my husband?  Cooking?  I should have known better: peanut butter sandwiches.  Lord have mercy with me.  Luckily a good friend had sent me a box with a pot of “Dark Chocolate Dreams” and a note:

“Here’s a little box to help you with your naturalization interview next month. Maybe this particular type of peanut butter will help you make the transition.”

How thoughtful of her! My first peanut butter experience might not be so bad after all.

Penelope, congrats on your new citizenship! It’s always wonderful to hear stories of our product being enjoyed, it’s even better when our products are helping someone through a tricky or difficult time. In the past we’ve recieved letters from people who said that the only food their sick family members would eat was one of our peanut butters. That’s a nice feeling!

From the comments, Josh has a sandwich idea:

hi im josh im 14 i saw your company on a show on the travel chanel and have a new sandwich for your menu its my favorite its a peanut butter & saurkraut sandwich on white bread with peanut butter on both sides with saurkraut in the middle make shure that you use plain saurkraut and creamy peanut butter write back if you like it

So here’s the deal: I’m not going to eat this. But if one of our intrepid readers agrees to make this, take pictures and send us those pictures, we’ll send them a free jar of peanut butter. Josh, I’m glad you like that sandwich. And I can even understand where someone might really like. But I have a hunch that that person is not me.

One Comment

  1. Posted January 30, 2009 at 5:42 pm | Permalink

    I’ll bet that if you added bacon to that sauerkraut sandwich, it’d be pretty good . . .

    My favorite form of peanut butter cuisine is what I call a Dutch peanut butter sandwich: PB & DeRuijter dark chocolate sprinkles. (Dutch people I’ve talked to tend not to approve, but I think their peanut butter is flavored differently from ours.) Needless to say, this works really well with your Dark Chocolate Dreams.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

